Vitoria of the Bean Eaters

This weekend, I visited Vitoria (Gasteiz in Euskera), the capital of the Basque Country. Like other parts of the region I’ve visited thus far, Vitoria charmed me with its duality – the medieval alongside the strikingly modern, the way children laugh and play in the fountains as police block off plazas for protests, the way everything has two names – in Spanish, and in Basque. The residents of Vitoria can be called Vitorianos, or Gasteiztarras… or Babazorros, which means Bean Eaters. I like that.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://topamplona.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/vitoria-of-the-bean-eaters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] for Construction On our trip to Vitoria, Lea, Cynthia, Rita and I saw an old cathedral and decided to ask about a tour. We were a bit […]


Leave a comment